Table of Contents
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents

    Our Mission and Vision

    Vision Statement

    Meaningful and measurable progress for students of all abilities.

    Mission Statement

    The mission of Special Education in Wasatch County School District is to enrich the educational process for students of all abilities by 1) facilitating meaningful access to resources at home, in school, and the community, 2) fostering meaningful relationships with students, their parents, teachers, and peers, 3) sustaining accountability for student competence in academic areas, and 4) providing access to a safe, healthy lifestyle.  

    Special Education Team

    School-Based Teams

    Heber Valley Elementary  

    Amy Chapman- LEARNING LAB Teacher amy.chapman@wasatch.edu
    Kristin Hellmann–Resource Teacher  kristin.hellmann@wasatch.edu
    Loida Alba- Resource Teacher loida.alba@wasatch.edu
    Stefanie Mickelson–Speech Pathologist stefanie.mickelson@wasatch.edu
     

    JR Smith Elementary

    Katie Knight– LEARNING LAB Teacher katie.knight@wasatch.edu 
    Lindsay Jepperson–Resource Teacher  lindsay.jepperson@wasatch.edu
    Laura Ong–Resource Teacher laura.ong@wasatch.edu
    Kim Stoddard–Speech Pathologist kim.stoddard@wasatch.edu
    Vicki Hunsaker–Speech Pathologist vicki.hunsaker@wasatch.edu 
     

    Midway Elementary 

    Angela George–LEARNING LAB Teacher angela.george@wasatch.edu 
    Travis Hepworth–Resource Teacher travis.hepworth@wasatch.edu
    Rachel Spencer–Resource Teacher rachel.spencer@wasatch.edu
    Sherri Zavartnik–Speech Pathologist sherri.zavartnik@wasatch.edu
     

    Old Mill Elementary

    Lauren Chevalier–LEARNING LAB Teacher lauren.chevalier@wasatch.edu 
    Sandra Barker–Resource Teacher sandra.barker@wasatch.edu
    Christina DeJong– Resource Teacher christina.dejong@wasatch.edu
    Pam Morris–Speech Technician pam.morris@wasatch.edu 
    Lindsey Myers–Speech Pathologist lindsey.myers@wasatch.edu
     

    Daniels Canyon Elementary 

    Andrea Hicken–LEARNING LAB Teacher andrea.hicken@wasatch.edu  
    Jessica Potter–Resource Teacher jessica.potter@wasatch.edu
    Morgan Murdock–Resource Teacher morgan.murdock@wasatch.edu
    Nancy Covarrubias–Speech Pathologist nancy.covarrubias@wasatch.edu
     

    Timpanogos Middle School

    Anna White–LEARNING LAB Teacher anna.white@wasatch.edu 
    Derik Bringhurst–Resource Teacher derik.bringhurst@wasatch.edu
    Nate Knight–Resource Teacher nathaneal.knight@wasatch.edu
    Jennifer Howell–Resource Teacher Jennifer.howell@wasatch.edu
    Genny Tayler–Speech Pathologist genny.tayler@wasatch.edu  
    Rebecca Wilson–Speech Technician rebecca.wilson@wasatch.edu
     

    Rocky Mountain Middle School

    Glenda Gray–LEARNING LAB Teacher glenda.gray@wasatch.edu 
    Alycia Luke–Resource Teacher Alycia.luke@wasatch.edu
    Mary McKee–Resource Teacher mary.mckee@wasatch.edu
    Lindsay Benson–Resource Teacher lindsay.benson@wasatc.edu 
    Rebecca Wilson–Speech Technician rebecca.wilson@wasatch.edu 
     

    Wasatch High School 

    Sami Graham–LEARNING LAB Teacher sami.graham@wasatch.edu 
    Tess Palczynksi–LEARNING LAB Teacher   tessie.palczynski@wasatch.edu
    Candy Peterson- LEARNING LAB Teacher candylynne.peterson@wasatch.edu 
    Erik Killion–Resource Teacher erik.killion@wasatch.edu
    Jerold Baum–Resource Teacher jerold.baum@wasatch.edu
    Heather Baird–Resource Teacher heather.baird@wasatch.edu
    Mindy Brooks–Resource Teacher mindy.brooks@wasatch.edu
    Melissa Bulloch–Resource Teacher melissa.bulloch@wasatch.edu
    Megan Harwin – Resource Teacher megan.harwin@wasatch.edu
    Sarah Wright–Resource Teacher–Resource Teacher sarah.wright@wasatch.edu
     

    Transition Program 

    Lane House- Transition Specialist lane.house@wasatch.edu
    Amy Bos–LEARNING LAB Teacher amy.bos@wasatch.edu
     

    Related Service Providers

    Bridgett Bakula–School Psychologist bridgett.bakula@wasatch.edu
    Jeff Pitts–School Psychologist jeff.pitts@wasatch.edu
    Tara Boswell–Preschool Instructional Coach tara.boswell@wasatch.edu 
    Kelsey Decker– Physical Therapist kelsey.decker@wasatch.edu
    Kamrie Fryer–Occupational Therapist kamrie.fryer@wasatch.edu
    Karen Ramirez– Occupational Therapist karen.ramirez@wasatch.edu 
    Rod Proce–Vision Specialist Rod.Price@wasatch.edu 
    Carla Beddingfield– Adaptive P.E. Instructor carla.bedingfield@wasatch.edu 
     Eliza Woodland–Motor Aide eliza.woodland@wasatch.edu
    Janalee Hendry–Motor Aide janalee.hendry@wasatch.edu
     

    Pre-School

    Tara Boswell–Preschool Instructional Coach tara.boswell@wasatch.edu 
    Lizzy Levy–Preschool Speech & Language Therapist elizabeth.levy@wasatch.edu 
    Alison Paulus–Preschool Teacher alison.paulus@wasatch.edu 
    Julie Patterson–Resource Teacher julie.patterson@wasatch.edu 
    Heatherly Stanley–Resource Teacher heatherly.stanley@wasatch.edu
     

    Administration

    Claire Mair–Director of Special Education claire.mair@wasatch.edu
    Kaeli Bills–Special Education Administrative Assistant kaeli.bills@wasatch.edu

    Services for Students with Disabilities

    Wasatch County School District offers a full range of educational services for students with disabilities who live within Wasatch County boundaries.

    Young children, ages three-to-five, with severe delays in language, motor, cognitive, or adaptive development can receive a free and appropriate education in our preschool program.

    Services, which include assessment, instruction, and evaluation, are also provided for students who qualify under federal and state guidelines, ages five to twenty-two (and have not graduated from high school). 

    A student whose disability does not need specialized instruction to benefit from education but could appropriately utilize specific interventions could possibly qualify for accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act, Section 504. These services are provided in all our district schools and are available for anyone who resides within our district boundaries.

    If you know of anyone who might qualify and would be interested in taking advantage of these special services or if you have any questions about any of these programs, contact Claire Mair at Wasatch School District Offices, 435-654-0280.

    Additional Services

    Behavioral Health

    Wasatch County School District provides school psychology services including assessment, intervention, as well as parent and teacher consultation services. School psychologists help children and youth succeed academically, socially, behaviorally, and emotionally. They collaborate with educators, parents, and other professionals to create safe, healthy, and supportive learning environments that strengthen connections between home, school, and the community for all students. Feel free to visit the national and local associations of school psychologists for details!

    Speech/Language Therapy

    Wasatch County School District employs a team of Speech and Language Pathologists and Technicians. SLPs and SLTs work with individual school teams to provide assessment, intervention as well as Individualized Education Plans (IEPs). Typically, SLPs and SLTs help students with articulation, feeding and swallowing needs, communication disorders, and social skills instruction.
     
    Each school has a qualified speech therapist to evaluate students and make recommendations for program implementation. Services are provided by a certified speech/language pathologist or a speech/language technician who has been trained by certified personnel.

    Occupational/Physical Therapy

    Wasatch County School District employs certified Occupational and Physical Therapists and Therapy Aides to help school teams address both the fine and gross motor skills of eligible students.

    Transportation

    Transportation services are offered to all students unable to walk or ride the regular school bus. Paraeducators are on the buses when needed to ensure student safety.

    Transition Resources

    Organization of Special Education in Wasatch County School District

    Values/Collective Commitments

    There are four primary programs/services that make-up the organization of Special Education Services in Wasatch:
     
    I). Curriculum Modification & Support
     
    Modifying the curriculum to meet the individualized needs of eligible students is essentially the whole purpose of special education programming. Our wonderful faculty and staff across both general and special education are responsible for making meaningful modifications and facilitating appropriate access for eligible students. 
     
    Students become eligible for special education when they meet ALL three of the following criteria:
     
    1). The child must have a disability.
    2). The child’s disability must adversely affect the educational performance.
    3). The child’s disability necessitates modification of the general curriculum  
     
    These eligibility criteria have been set forth by both State and Federal Guidelines and are often referred to as the “Three Prongs of Special Education Eligibility.”  
     
     WCSD employs teams of highly qualified assessment professionals including early childhood specialists, teachers, speech-language pathologists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, and school psychologists to help determine eligibility for special education. 
     
    While WCSD strives to provide the highest quality curriculum modifications and supports, it is our philosophy that students of all abilities learn best when educated with their typically developing peers. As such, our efforts to provide special education is accomplished collaboratively with general education teachers, principals, and of course, parents.  
     
    II). Related Services
     
    WCSD is fortunate to employ a robust clinical team of licensed and nationally certified professionals across the areas of speech-language pathology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, nursing, vision, and school psychology. In addition to these clinical services, WCSD is fortunate to be able to provide transportation as a related service for eligible students. 
     
    In the school systems, teams with clinical training are often referred to as “Related Service Providers.” This distinction is an important one because access to these services is typically provided only in relation to the student’s progress in the general curriculum. In other words, Related Services must be connected in some way to the child’s access to instruction. If a child is not eligible for special education, they are not eligible for related services.
     
    Again, these policies have been established by both State and Federal guidelines regarding the provision of services for eligible students. WCSD employs multiple related service providers to meet the needs of eligible students. Please visit the Special Education faculty and staff page to learn more about the services they provide. 
     
    III). Parent Committee
     
    In addition to the multiple school-based services WCSD is proud to provide, the PEAK (Parents Empowering Abled Kids) Committee is one of the most crucial components to our programming in special education. With the goal of building quality relationships between parents and our faculty, the inclusion of parents is critically important. 
     
    WCSD is fortunate to have an independent, strong, and collaborative parent committee dedicated to learning about (and contributing to) special education in WCSD. Please feel free to contact Sara Richards at kaeli.bills@wasatch.edu for the most up-to-date PEAK Committee contact list.  
     
    IV). Transition (Post-High School Programming)
     
    WCSD is proud to offer a comprehensive post-high school program focusing on college, career, and work-based learning objectives for eligible students ranging in ages from 18-to-22. Each student in WCSD works towards within a “transition plan” starting at the beginning of their 8th grade year. These plans are designed to keep an eye on goals related to post-school settings such as college, vocation, independent living, etc. 
     
     
    Please feel free to contact Dr. Ben Springer with any questions and/or concerns regarding Special Education in Wasatch County School District at ben.springer@wasatch.edu.